Contact

CONTACT FORM

8 + 6 =

GENERAL INFORMATION

 

480-686-9539

info@westernspirit.org

ACCOUNTING

480-686-9539, ext. 206
Accounting@WesternSpirit.org

CURATORIAL

480-686-9539, ext. 220
Curator@WesternSpirit.org

Donating objects: Western Spirit art and artifact collections expand through donations from collectors.
Exhibition proposals: Western Spirit accepts exhibition proposals exclusively through: info@westernspirit.org

DOCENTS

480-686-9539, ext. 212
Education@WesternsSpirit.org

EDUCATION (K-12)

480-686-9539, ext. 212
Education@WesternSpirit.org

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

480-686-9539, ext. 213
Director@WesternSpirit.org

EVENTS

480-686-9539, ext. 231
Events@WesternSpirit.org

Please share with us information on the event you are planning, including requested date, and the expected number of attendees.

EXHIBITIONS

480-686-9539, ext. 204
Preparator@WesternSpirit.org

GRANTS

480-686-9539 ext. 213
Grants@WesternSpirit.org

GROUP TOURS

480-686-9539, ext. 212
Tours@WesternSpirit.org

Please share with us the date and time you would like to come, the group size, number of children and number of adults, and the tour you are interested in.

GUEST SERVICES

480-686-9539 ext. 200
VisitorServices@WesternSpirit.org

INSTITUTIONAL ADVANCEMENT

mfox@scottsdalemuseumwest.org

LIBRARY AND ARCHIVES
The library is open by appointment only.

480-686-9539, ext. 214
Registrar@WesternSpirit.org

MEDIA INQUIRIES, MARKETING & WEBSITE

480-686-9539, ext. 219
Marketing@WesternSpirit.org

MEMBERSHIP

480-686-9539, ext. 231
Membership@WesternSpirit.org

MUSEUM STORE

480-686-9539, ext. 210
Store@WesternSpirit.org

PUBLIC PROGRAMS

480-686-9539, ext. 213
Director@WesternSpirit.org

REGISTRAR

480-686-9539, ext. 214
Registrar@WesternSpirit.org

Request the loan of an object – outgoing loan requests will be reviewed and granted for exhibit, interpretive, research or other purposes to institutions or organizations for objectives that are in keeping with the scope and with the scope and mission of Western Spirit.

SECURITY & FACILITIES

480-686-9539, ext. 228
Facilities@WesternSpirit.org

SUPPORT WESTERN SPIRIT – VOLUNTEERS & INDIVIDUAL GIVING

480-686-9539, ext. 201
Development@WesternSpirit.org

Appraisals – Information Staff members of Western Spirit are unable to authenticate, appraise, or otherwise evaluate any object for insurance, commercial, or other purposes. Choosing an Appraiser Regulations of the Internal Revenue Service require that a disinterested third party perform appraisals of tax-deductible gifts to non-profit institutions. Currently, there is no legal certification of personal property appraisers and no government-required testing for the profession. There are, however, codified standards. Additional information can be obtained from the following associations:

Appraisers Association of America – AAA   www.appraisersassoc.org 212-889-5404

American Society of Appraisers – ASA www.appraisers.org 800-272-8258

International Society of Appraisers – ISA www.isa-appraisers.org 206-241-0359

Matters that you should consider include the following: expertise, credentials, written contract, signed statement of disinterest, appraisal documentation, type of value (fair market, replacement), fee and whether the appraiser has liability insurance. With respect to the appraisal fee, most appraisers charge based on hourly rates. For federal tax purposes, it is not legal for the appraisal fee to be based on a percentage of the overall value of the item or items. A feasibility assessment may be requested of the appraiser to determine whether an appraisal is warranted. In the case of charitable contributions, the cost of an appraisal might be tax-deductible; contact your tax advisor.